Chocolate Brownie Peanut Butter Cup Parfait… Thing

We were fortunate enough to have my parents and a brother in town for Christmas this year.  For dinner I made a big pot roast in the crock pot, but I wanted to make an actual dessert – cookies are usually the default.
I had been searching for recipes that were both fairly easy to make and that I would also want to eat, obviously, and I found myself continually entering “peanut butter and chocolate” into the search terms.  I must have had a craving! I saw a bunch of different ideas that sounded good, but while putting away dishes one night I saw the parfait glasses from the Mr.’s mother up in a cabinet and I decided individual desserts would be the way to go.

This recipe doesn’t come from anywhere specifically that I can credit, I took a “just wing it” approach really, but if I used a specific tip from somewhere I will include their link as always.

*I’ve included two ways to make the peanut butter mousse – a simple way and a more complex way. You can use either!*

Ingredients:

  • 1 3.9oz box Jell-o Instant Pudding & Pie Filling, Chocolate
  • 2 Cups Milk
  • 1 Bag of Miniature Reces Peanut Butter Cups
  • 1 Can of Whipped Cream (of course you can make your own if you prefer)
  • 1 Box of Brownie Mix – typically requires eggs, water, and oil depending on the kind (of course you can make your brownies home made if you prefer)

Peanut Butter Mousse

  • 1/2 cup Peanut Butter
  • 1 1/2 cups Cool Whip

OR

  • 4 oz Whipped Cream cheese at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Peanut Butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp Heavy Cream

Directions:

– Following directions on the box or recipe, prepare and cook your batch of brownies. Allow them to cool. Next, make the chocolate pudding according to directions on the box and set aside.
– Unwrap and chop up the mini peanut butter cups – the amount of peanut butter cups you want to use is up to you, but I chopped up 20.
– To prepare the peanut butter mousse mix together the cool whip and peanut butter in a large bowl
OR
In the bowl of your stand mixer with the whisk attachment, or in a large bowl with a hand mixer, beat together the cream cheese, peanut butter, powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and heavy cream until light and ‘fluffy’ – about 2 minutes.

Now, for the layering.  You can do this in any order you like, but I started with putting down a layer of brownies in each glass. Next I halved the chocolate pudding and added a layer followed by a layer of peanut butter cup pieces.  Then I divided the entirety of the peanut butter mousse among the 5 glasses. I added another layer of peanut butter cups on top of the mousse and the rest of the pudding on top of that.  To finish it off I added whipped cream, the rest of the peanut butter cups.

img_1688
Of course I had to taste test some while I was chopping them up… just to make sure they were okay!

 

Final Product:

img_1691
I told them to wait so that I could take a picture… they couldn’t hold off any longer! 🙂

 

What I would do differently:

As is often the case with any recipe you try for the first time, I have found a few things that I would change.  Admittedly I am not a giant sweets fan – or not in large quantities anyway – but I think even for those with a sweet tooth these were a little too rich. I think this could easily be alleviated by smaller portions (I know the glasses don’t look very large in this photo).

Leave a Reply

